.

Advance Voting for State House Special Election Starts Monday

Four candidates are vying for the District 22 state House seat.

Advance Voting for the Jan. 7 special election to fill the vacancy in Georgia House District 22 will begin Monday, Dec. 16, and will run through Friday, Jan. 3.

In Forsyth County, Georgia House District 22 encompasses the entire Brandywine precinct, portions of the Polo precinct, portions of the Midway precinct, and all of the former Vickery precinct. All of the former Vickery precinct voters have been reallocated to either the Polo or Midway precinct. Only those voters who reside in Georgia House District 22 are eligible to vote in the election.

Forsyth County registered voters who reside in Georgia House District 22 may cast their ballot during Advance Voting at the Forsyth County Administration Building, located at 110 E. Main St. in Cumming. 

The Advance Voting hours during the first two weeks are as follows: 

Downtown Cumming 
County Administration Building 
110 E. Main St., Cumming, GA 30040 
Voting Hours:
  • Monday, December 16, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.   
  • Tuesday, December 17, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
  • Wednesday, December 18, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
  • Thursday, December 19, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
  • Friday, December 20, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
  • Monday, December 23, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
  • Closed Tuesday, December 24 
  • Closed Wednesday, December 25 
  • Thursday, December 26, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
  • Friday, December 27, from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.   

The Forsyth County Administration Building at 110 E. Main St. and the Midway Park Community Building, located at 5100 Post Road, will be open for voting during Advance Voting for the Jan. 7 special election on Saturday, Dec. 28, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. 

Beginning Monday, Dec. 30, the Forsyth County Administration Building at 110 E. Main St. and the Midway Park Community Building, located at 5100 Post Road, will be open for voting during Advance Voting for the Jan. 7 Special Election. The details are as follows: 

Downtown Cumming 
County Administration Building 
110 E. Main St., Cumming, GA 30040 
Voting Hours:
  • Monday, December 30, from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.   
  • Tuesday, December 31, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
  • Closed Wednesday, January 1 
  • Thursday, January 2, from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. 
  • Friday, January 3, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
West Forsyth Area 
Midway Park     
5100 Post Road, Cumming, GA 30040 
Voting Hours: 
  • Monday, December 30, from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. 
  • Tuesday, December 31, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. 
  • Closed Wednesday, January 1 
  • Thursday, January 2, from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. 
  • Friday, January 3, from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.  
There is no voting of any kind the Monday prior to any election. 

To receive more election information, including details about voting by mail, call 770-781-2118, extension 9, or visit the Forsyth County Web site at www.forsythco.com.

Tell us what you think in the comments, share your photos and videos, and don’t miss any of the local news you care about— subscribe to Cumming Patch’s free newsletterlike us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter. 

You also should read:

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »