.

Cafe Risque Billboards Cluttering the Highway

Not too many families are looking to make a stop at the Cafe Risque on their way to Disney World, yet I-75 is littered with billboards touting these strip clubs ad nauseam.

I-75 is loaded with billboards for strip clubs and adult toy stores, especially on the way to Disney World.

How do parents explain what "adult toys" are to a child in the back seat wearing Mickey Mouse ears? How many children, just learning to sound out and read billboards have asked their parents what "We Bare All" means?

On I-75 from South Georgia all the way to Central Florida, countless billboards remind us that there are people out there who think disrespecting themselves is just a part of the daily routine. Maybe they are the only people who actually stop by these establishments or find employment there.

Whatever the case, it would be nice if the owners of these places or our state commissioners would do the rest of us a favor and remove the tacky billboard advertisements that blight the landscape.

I am embarrassed for our country as a whole that these billboards are featured more frequently than any other along I-75--the main highway choice available for families heading to Disney from the north.

I doubt there are any parents who just can't wait until their kids are of age to stop in the Cafe Risque so junior can check out the help while his sister applies for a job. America is over-sexed as it is, and we are often the butt of many jokes from other countries for our dependence on the distractions of sex. (Certain politicians have intensified that reputation.)

America continues to play the fool when we allow billboards for places like the Cafe Risque to bombard our children with the idea that food and sex make for the ultimate one-stop destination for convenience in satisfying hunger in several areas.

According to a report in Scenic Georgia, progress is being made. In 2008, Lavonia, Georgia purchased an I-85 Cafe Risque along with it's nearby billboards and tore it all down just to get the place out of their town. 

For years, travelers on their way to Disney World have been passing those ugly billboards that tout, “WE BARE ALL!” If that’s the case, better step on the gas pedal because it’s a scary visual trying to get through lunch or dinner with a side of nasty in your face.

Cafe Risque makes me think of things like under-cooked food, salmonella and sexually transmitted diseases; you know--all the things we warn our children to stay away from.

There will always be people who work in or patronize establishments that demoralize society as a whole. The lame excuses run the gamut from, "I'm dancing to pay for college," to, "I eat there because the food is good."

But the next time I take that road trip to Florida, instead of looking the other way when we pass those cheesy billboards, I can at least feel better knowing I have done something about it. I contacted Commissioner Vance C. Smith Jr. with the Georgia Department of Transportation and asked if they could begin an effort to remove the billboards or greatly reduce their frequency on our highways. 

I hope to hear back from Mr. Vance C. Smith Jr. very soon. I hope Smith isn't overlooking those who pay the state for the existing Cafe Risque and "Adult Toy!" billboards to remain on our highways.

The money the state earns on those billboards isn't worth the message they are sending to impressionable children who deserve a trip to Disney World without this form of blatant advertising that relies on conditioning minors for future revenue. 

Marc July 14, 2011 at 02:21 AM
Kristen, You have a very slanted view. Leading people in the right direction? Really? Who are you to make that call? Before you pick up that stone to throw, you better step out of that glass house you live in. Not seeing tobacco advertisements anymore was politicians way of making it look like they were doing something. To buy votes. Had nothing to do with health. If it had to do with health they would have banned it. They attacked a legitimate business selling a legal product so they could pound on their chests at election time. Pure and simple. Very much like the alcohol rhetoric that goes on here. If tomorrow the Southern Baptist Church decided that Sunday sales of alcohol was ok it would pass in a moment. Has nothing to do with health and everything to do with religion and its influence here on politics. Just come out and say it. At least be honest about who you are and the organization you represent. By your remark that people are disrespecting themselves you are in essence calling them stupid for making a living the way they do. At least they are not standing in line waiting for entitlement handouts. They are working class people contributing to the local economy, not a drain on it. Are you willing to take all these people in when they loose their jobs? Or should my tax money go to support them. You say "I am done now." Great finish.Journalistic prize winning statement. You started this with your rant.Have the courage to ride the storm when people disagree with you..
Marc July 14, 2011 at 02:25 AM
Tabitha. It is easy to throw out scripture. Why not tell us what it means to you? What are you meaning to say?
Tabitha Davidson July 14, 2011 at 02:31 AM
Marc, the verse that I quoted was sent to me from a friend today. I thought it fitting for the people who are speaking about the "patrons" of Cafe Risqué and other venues of the sort as though they are making morally wrong decisions. If anyone really wants to discuss the Bible, shouldn't they recall that Christians are not supposed to judge one another?
Marc July 14, 2011 at 02:37 AM
Then I commend you for you are correct. Matthew 7:1-5 ESV “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Why do you see the speck that is in your brother's eye, but do not notice the log that is in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ when there is the log in your own eye? You hypocrite, first take the log out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother's eye.
Lisa July 14, 2011 at 12:07 PM
Marc, I have read through all of your comments as well as the OTHERS. I just have to ask myself... why are you SO defensive about this? Do you own a Franchise of Cafe Risque or something similar? You totally missed the entire point!! This article was based on an opinion of one person who is offended by these signs and truly cares about the young people who see them. I to am personally offended by them being of the female gender. What planet are you from??? You have way too much time on your hands.
Marc July 14, 2011 at 12:35 PM
Lisa, We cannot walk through life being offended by everything we come across. There are obviously a lot of the female gender who are not offended. There is a group of people who are offended by Christians displaying articles of religion. Should crosses and Christmas decorations be banned because of that? Simply being offended by something is a weak and prejudicial reason for wanting something removed. And remember. It is only her Opinion.As well as yours. No facts were written in the article. Please show me any factual studies showing these signs do any harm to any child. As I said before. Censorship is a very slippery slope to go down. Once one thing is censored by opinion, you open up for things you believe in to be censored also. That is the point I am making. Everyday our government seeks to take away more of our freedoms and limit what we do. Let us not help them in their quest.
Marc July 14, 2011 at 01:00 PM
And Lisa as far as having too much time on my hands. My answer is this. I guess our fore fathers had too much time on their hands when they fought for our freedoms. Too much time on their hands when they wrote the constitution. I guess my father had too much time on his hands fighting in WWII defending the very freedoms you and Kristen are so eager to take away. So yes, if having too much time on ones hands means standing up to people who want to give my liberty's away, then time is endless for me.
Lisa July 14, 2011 at 01:58 PM
Wow Marc... AGAIN you have missed the point. You have gone off on a Ranting Rampage so far away from the intent of this article. OPINION... look up the definition in the Webster Dictionary. Now... get your last word in and YOU WIN!!! :)
Tabitha Davidson July 14, 2011 at 02:01 PM
Lisa, I believe Marc's comments reflect HIS opinion on the topic that this opinion article was written about. Just as you have the right to share your opinion about his comments, Marc—along with everyone else here—has the right to share his.
Ashlee Turner July 14, 2011 at 02:27 PM
Lisa, I think your reactions here are pretty immature, and to be honest, I feel you're the one who is missing the point. While this article was in fact about Kristen's opinion about CR billboards, Marc's arguments are showing her that while she is entitled to that opinion, it is not fair to try to have these boards censored. What Marc has said that none of you seem to grasp is this: 1. Kristen is entitled to her opinion that the CR billboards are an eyesore and go against her personal moral/ethical code. 2. Kristen is entitled to petition whomever she desires in an attempt to remove these signs; however, she must realize that as our law is governed by the GOVERNMENT, and NOT an establishment based on religious beliefs or personal morals, nothing will be done about these signs. 3. Attempting to censor anything because someone (regardless of if it's 1 person or 100 people) are offended by it is a slippery slope. Example: Kristen petitions and the government DOES remove those signs. Cafe Risque owner, in turn, petitions the government because he/she takes offense to the Jesus fish/cross/bible verse (whatever, it's an example) bumper stickers he sees. The government has now set a precedence that when someone is offended they need to be pacified and given what they want. Ergo, you can no longer use public displays of Christian memorabilia to show that you are Christian. Obviously this is a stretch of an example, but you [hopefully, but not likely] get the point.
Lisa July 14, 2011 at 02:30 PM
PEOPLE, people.... It's JUST an article!!! Let's not all come unglued at once!!!
Marc July 14, 2011 at 02:31 PM
Yet Kristen would have these billboards removed because of her OPINION. Not facts.The intent of this article is to have those billboards removed because of an OPINION.That is the intent of the article is it not? To remove the legal billboards advertising a legal business because of a OPINION. Oh and I am right here. No need to yell. And here is the definition: o·pin·ion   [uh-pin-yuhn] noun 1.a belief or judgment that rests on grounds insufficient to produce complete certainty. 2.a personal view, attitude, or appraisal. Notice that word insufficient in the definition. I wonder if you looked up the definition. I am not basing my views on a OPINION but facts. The fact is these billboards are legal. The fact is the business they advertise is legal. The fact is Kristen wants them removed based on an OPINION.
Lisa July 14, 2011 at 02:41 PM
SO... Do we all agree that we are having fun with this???? LOL
Ashlee Turner July 14, 2011 at 02:42 PM
Nobody is coming "unglued" as you say, it's just a bit baffling to realize that there are so many people right here at home who just don't actually have a clue what's going on in the world outside of their own nearsighted endeavors. Having an opinion is fine. Not agreeing with others' opinions is fine, too. My issue, which seems to be where you are saying we are all coming "unglued" is how you can sit here and say "she's entitled to an opinion," yet argue with us about our opinion. And how Kristen can say "let her comments stand on their own," and yet chastise us for our comments. And how Jean can say "your opinion is too silly to comment on" yet tell us she is not self-righteous. Would you like another definition? hyp·o·crite noun \ˈhi-pə-ˌkrit\ 1 : a person who puts on a false appearance of virtue or religion 2 : a person who acts in contradiction to his or her stated beliefs or feelings You're saying one thing as it pertains to YOU, and the people YOU agree with, yet what is good for the goose is apparently not good for the gander, because you chastise us for those same things. If you are entitled to an opinion, so is everyone else.
Marc July 14, 2011 at 02:48 PM
If all Kristen was doing was expressing her dislike of the billboards she is welcome to her opinion as everyone is. But she is using her opinion along with the power of this publication that she works for to force her opinion upon the owners of said legal cafe. Sort of walks the line of abuse of journalistic privilege is it not?
Lisa July 14, 2011 at 02:57 PM
Marc, It's her job. Don't you get it dude? There are opinion columns all over the country. Don't start throwing threats out there buddy!! Just sayin....
Jean July 14, 2011 at 03:15 PM
In reading back over the comments I find so many remarks questioning my "Self"..righteousness", from the reason Christ died on the cross; as my Bible tells me, to any number of things. If this is what happens when innocent remarks are made I want to not have anything more to do with this. Byeee
Marc July 14, 2011 at 04:52 PM
Lisa, Where do read any threats in my statements? It is Kristen's job to put out her opinion. But when she openly brags about calling the DOT to shut down a legitimate business, that is no long a opinion but a action taken. And by writing about it here, she is trying to use her position to legitimize that action. Speaking her opinion as fact. To be able to show her group "See what I did!" Jean, Are you upset because you are disagreed with? What do you,Kristen or Lisa expect when you write in a column like this. When you write an opinion for all to see, expect differing views to be put out. Especially when that opinion if enacted effects the livelihoods of so many people.
Lisa July 14, 2011 at 08:19 PM
Marc, I'm going against my better judgement here by replying. Maybe "Threat" was too strong of a word. Abusive would be more like it. You and Ashlee have done nothing short of turning this into a *BLEEPING* match!! You both have been rude and abusive to whomever has made a comment and you were heard loud and clear. You both win for being the loudest!! GIVE IT A REST!!! It was an article, in an Opinion Column, in a small community Publication. One of a million others you will come across that you disagree with. I agree that everyone has a right to an opinion, but DON'T shoot others down for theirs. Treat the other person the way you would want to be treated. Be someone to be remembered by in a good way. I was merely trying to point out that the discussion had completely gone off track. I never said I agreed or disagreed... I did say I was offended by them as well and that's all I said!! And one other point... I hope my Daughter is never employed by this establishment to pay her college tuition. This type of job is not a BLESSING.
Ashlee Turner July 14, 2011 at 08:34 PM
I would like for you to please point out to me where I have turned this into a *bleeping* match (whatever that means.) I have argued vehemently FOR the fact that Kristen can have her opinion, as can anyone else. The only thing I have argued against is the fact that these people who are so determined to have their own opinions have belittled Marc's opinion every step of the way. I completely agree that everyone has a right to an opinion, nor would I ever shoot someone down for their opinion. I happen to agree with Kristen, as I have stated, that these particular billboards are in fact a blight on our landscape. The point that I have attempted to make, several times now, which has been quite lost on you apparently, is that it is OKAY to engage in debate with one another about these opinions. But rather than debate, we have been called silly and stupid and told to go back up north, etc. I will sleep just fine at night about the way I have "treated" people in my comments. I have done nothing more than defend someone whom I felt was being attacked unjustifiably, and to attempt debate about the issues that Kristen expressed an opinion on. I, too, hope that your daughter never has to be employed by an establishment like Cafe Risque in order to pay her tuition. However, knowing first hand what it is like to have to pay for my education myself, I can also see how some women would turn to ANY job that they could find in order to afford those greater opportunities.
Ashlee Turner July 14, 2011 at 08:39 PM
Furthermore, you're absolutely right that having to do this type of work out of desperation or lack of options is not necessarily a blessing. But it an economy like this where people are losing their jobs left and right and are spending months and even years unemployed, I personally take issue with not considering any source of income a blessing in its own right. Obviously I would never expect this to be a top career choice, and I personally would never choose to do it, but I would also never judge someone who felt that they had to do it to get them by, or to pay their way through college, etc. The point is that while you can have your opinion and I can have mine, it is not our place to judge anyone else based on their choices. That judgement is His alone to make, and as Tabitha shared with us yesterday in her scripture passage, Heaven rejoices more over the repentance of sinners than it does over the righteous. This is not to say that any one person is inherently better than another, I'm just saying it is not your place, nor mine, to judge someone for working in this environment. I have no issues with Kristen's opinion on the billboards, as I have said, I agree with her opinion there. Where I took issue with Kristen, was the assumptive language and judgements she was passing on people that she doesn't even know. As for where I was rude and abusive, this accusation is completely unwarranted. I have remained factual and respectful--moreso than most of you have.
Marc July 14, 2011 at 09:14 PM
Lisa, I think you are looking in the wrong direction as to who was Bleepeng. The only abuse has come from you and others by your name calling and trying to yell over top of us. Ashlee and I have only stated our views. Never did either of us personally attack anyone. By using all Cap letters on certain words and exclamation points to excess you are the one Bleeping. Not us. And yes There will be other opinion pages that I will comment on in the future. And they will be commented just as I have done here. Calmly, with respect and with facts. No yelling. No name calling. I have not shot any one down for their opinion. Just taking them to task trying to push that opinion onto law abiding, hard working people. Trying to push them out of what I would imagine is the only job they could get that pays what they make.
Lisa July 15, 2011 at 01:13 AM
Whatever.... I don't want to be louder than either of you or any one else for that matter. My interpretation (or my opinion) of this article was that of a person who was driving down the highway, passing sign after sign of similar content and she was offended by it. I did not quote a word that either of you said. I just said the conversation went into another level than what the intent of the article was about. I did not do any name calling, yes, I capitalized words, but that was not yelling... it was emphasizing just like Ashlee was doing. I did not judge any one, I did not pull our government into this, I did not pull our forefathers into this, I did not pull religion into this, I did not call any one immature, stupid or silly, I did not bring economic status into it, I did not even bring parenting skills into it... So you see we have all fed off of each others comments here, myself included. None of us is right or wrong in this debate. There were only 2 facts in this entire article... 1. The report that Kristin provided from Scenic Georgia from 2008 and 2. She wrote to the commissioner. Did she once say she was seeking to shut the business down? I think not. She only said she would like to see the signs come down. Marc, I will apologize to you right here in public for saying you had too much time on your hands. I have fallen guilty of this all day... I became obsessed. Lesson learned!
Marc July 15, 2011 at 11:41 AM
Lisa, Your apology is accepted and thank you. But I will leave this discussion with this, Although Kristen never came right out and said she wanted to close down these establishments, the result would be the same. Most of the people going to these places are steered there by the billboards. As with the other establishments that advertise on billboards. No one would know they were there without them. All the business's that use billboards depend on the people in the thousands of cars that pass by the signs to read them. We do not live in a static world. Anything that you do or say can have unintended consequences. The consequence of taking down billboards that are the life line of a business is that the business folds. So either Kristen knows that and does not care or she did not think through what her actions would reap. From her picture I take it she is still young. I can only hope with time and experience her journalist methods will mature.
Alan McKee July 17, 2011 at 01:46 PM
I think Marc and Ashlee's comments are well stated. This article has served it purpose by bringing more awareness to Cumming Patch. I also felt reading the comments to be very entertaining .
Gary Faust August 02, 2011 at 07:06 PM
Holy S*%T! this has to be the most ignorant website i have seen in a bit.! we should do humanity a favor and never visit such an abomination in hopes of keeping these small minded opinions out of the general population.
Marc August 02, 2011 at 08:31 PM
So Gary, Everyone should be as close minded as you? When you speak or small minds are you looking in the mirror? Should we all bow down to narrow minded people? I for one am glad we live in such a diversified country. And we do not stand for the antiquated puritan beliefs leading us down that narrow road which ultimately leads to prejudice. If you do not like the establishments, do not go there. Simple as that.
watbol March 17, 2012 at 02:29 AM
-- Excerpt From Dr. Strange -- ------------------------------ Wong, You're an intelligent man, Surely, you don't believe all this? (Wong)It's not a question of belief... I can believe it's not raining outside, & leave my umbrella in the closet. But that won't help me from getting wet!
ATang October 02, 2013 at 06:12 PM
Gary Faust...Thank you So much. I hadn't read your post before I wrote mine, and a common idea we have about this person, this article, and this website is IGNORANT.
ATang October 02, 2013 at 06:17 PM
Actually, FUCK YOU ALL.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something